Czech International Stroke Play Championship

Czech International Stroke Play Championship

redakce, Středa 15. srpna 2018

The Czech International Stroke Play Champion-ship is regarded as the highlight of the local ama-teur scene. This tournament, which classifies as a World Amateur Golf Rankings (WAGR) event, constitutes one of the most prestigious tourna-ments in the Czech Republic.

The names of the tournament’s past winners speak for themselves. In 2008, Sandra Gal – who would later go on to win the professional LPGA Tour – seized the trophy. Klára Spolková, this year’s Ladies European Tour winner, dominated the years 2009 and 2010. Of course, one must not forget the 2010 men’s category winner Tyrrell Hatton, or Andy Sullivan who came third that year. Both Englishmen are consistent European Tour participants nowadays, Hatton having reached the elite top 20. A year later, Matthew Wallace – who triumphed in the European Tour in Portugal this year – came second.

What makes this tournament so attractive for Czech amateurs is the fact that it presents one of the last remaining opportunities of qualifying for D+D REAL Czech Masters, a European Tour event held in the Czech Republic.

Czech International Amateur Championship presented by Raiffeisenbank tends to welcome about 150 participants from dozens of countries all around the globe. Not unlike most professional tournaments, it comprises four rounds; however, a cut only takes place after the third round.

This year in Šilheřovice, Šimon Zach and Jana Melichová won in the men’s and women’s categories, respectively. 

Czech International Amateur Championship 2018
Autor: redakce 
Datum: Středa 15. srpna 2018
All articles from this author

check your handicap